Grades 1-5

Elementary Grades (1st—5th Grade)

Formal Faith Formation for your child begins in 1st grade. Our 1st-4th Grade program uses Finding God: Our Response to God's Gifts by Loyola Press.  This curriculum integrates the fundamental themes of the Catechism of the Catholic Church as well as Scriptures and Catholic Social Teachings.  During the weekly classes the students will have opportunities to incorporate their learning and understanding through hands-on activities, games, skits and discussions. 

Our 5th Grade program introduces scripture to our students through a 6 week Bible study on the Book of Genesis; the year continues through a book study using the book Blessed Teresa of Calcutta by Pauline Publishers.  During Lent, our students will dramatize the Stations of the Cross for parents and students during class time.  The year ends with an interactive, on-going review of catechetical concepts previously learned and built upon throughout the year, including a study of the Beatitudes.

Classes are offered:

Monday 4:30 - 5:45 pm | Grades 1 - 5
Monday 6:15 - 7:30 pm | Grades 1 - 7
Tuesday 4:30 - 5:45 pm | Grades 1 - 5
Tuesday 6:15 - 7:15 pm | Grades 1 - 7

Successful completion of our elementary program (1st-5th) is foundational for our young students allowing them to build upon their faith understanding in our middle-school programming. 

Learning Objectives by Grade Level

Within the Church’s mission of evangelization, catechesis promotes and matures initial conversion, educates persons in the faith, and incorporates them into the life of the Christian community. (Directory of Catechesis)

St. Mark Faith Formation program is built upon three elements: catechesis, service and fellowship.  Enlightening both the head and heart towards Jesus Christ is at the forefront of our programming, and it is through weekly classes that we provide for our students language and understanding for them to further realize Christ in their lives. 

The following are the catechetical learning objectives for 1st to 5th grade: 

First Grade   Second Grade   Third Grade
Fourth Grade   Fifth Grade